Skip to main content
v2026.11,772 entries · CC-BY 4.0

Direct comparison

99232 vs 99233: Subsequent Inpatient Levels

99232 or 99233? Moderate vs high MDM, or 35 vs 50 minutes — thresholds, not ranges, since the 2023 revision. The exact CPT bar, compared.

Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board

Last updated

Ask CASRAI · included with Regulatory Radar

Ask about 99232 vs 99233: Subsequent Inpatient Levels

Ask CASRAI answers research-administration questions and cites the passages behind every claim — and says so when the corpus does not cover something, instead of guessing. It comes with a Regulatory Radar subscription at $29 a month, alongside the daily digest of regulatory changes and the dashboard of what changed.

150 questions a day, on this site, over the API, or inside your own tools through the CASRAI MCP server.

Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.

How do 99232, 99233 compare side by side?

The table below compares 99232, 99233 across 16 procurement-relevant dimensions, from service through category-level picture.

Side-by-side comparison

Dimension9923299233
ServiceSubsequent hospital inpatient or observation care, per daySubsequent hospital inpatient or observation care, per day
Level of MDM required<strong>Moderate</strong><strong>High</strong>
Total time on the date of the encounterCPT: <strong>35 minutes must be met or exceeded</strong>. A minimum, not a range — 99232 is not "35-49 minutes".CPT: <strong>50 minutes must be met or exceeded</strong>. From 65 minutes, add prolonged code 99418.
Element 1 — problems addressed<strong>Moderate</strong> — 1 or more chronic illnesses with exacerbation, progression, or side effects of treatment; <em>or</em> 2 or more stable, chronic illnesses; <em>or</em> 1 undiagnosed new problem with uncertain prognosis; <em>or</em> 1 acute illness with systemic symptoms; <em>or</em> 1 acute, complicated injury.<strong>High</strong> — 1 or more chronic illnesses with <em>severe</em> exacerbation, progression, or side effects of treatment; <em>or</em> 1 acute or chronic illness or injury that poses a threat to life or bodily function.
Element 2 — data reviewed and analyzed<strong>Moderate</strong> — must meet at least <strong>1 of 3</strong> categories. <strong>Cat 1:</strong> any combination of <strong>3</strong> of — review of prior external note(s) per unique source; review of result(s) of each unique test; ordering of each unique test; assessment requiring an independent historian. <strong>Cat 2:</strong> independent interpretation of a test performed by another physician/QHP (not separately reported). <strong>Cat 3:</strong> discussion of management or test interpretation with an external physician/QHP/appropriate source (not separately reported).<strong>Extensive</strong> — same three categories as Moderate, but you must meet at least <strong>2 of 3</strong>. This is the only difference in the data element between the two levels: the category contents are identical, the count of categories doubles.
Element 3 — risk<strong>Moderate risk</strong> of morbidity from additional diagnostic testing or treatment. CPT's <em>examples only</em>: prescription drug management; decision regarding minor surgery with identified patient or procedure risk factors; decision regarding elective major surgery without identified patient or procedure risk factors; diagnosis or treatment significantly limited by social determinants of health.<strong>High risk</strong> of morbidity from additional diagnostic testing or treatment. CPT's <em>examples only</em>: drug therapy requiring intensive monitoring for toxicity; decision regarding elective major surgery with identified patient or procedure risk factors; decision regarding emergency major surgery; decision regarding hospitalization or escalation of hospital-level care; decision not to resuscitate or to de-escalate care because of poor prognosis; parenteral controlled substances.
How many elements you needMDM has three elements — problems addressed, data reviewed and analyzed, and risk. Per CPT, "to qualify for a particular level of MDM, two of the three elements for that level of MDM must be met or exceeded." You never need all three.MDM has three elements — problems addressed, data reviewed and analyzed, and risk. Per CPT, "to qualify for a particular level of MDM, two of the three elements for that level of MDM must be met or exceeded." You never need all three.
Which problem you scoreCPT, for inpatient and observation services: the problem addressed is "the problem status on the date of the encounter, which may be significantly different than on admission." It is the problem you are managing or co-managing — and "may not be the cause of admission or continued stay."Same rule, and it cuts both ways: a patient admitted with a life-threatening problem who is now stable is not automatically a 99233, and a patient admitted for something routine who deteriorates today can be.
History and examinationNot a factor. Since 1 January 2021 CPT states that "the extent of history and physical examination is not an element in selection of the level of these E/M service codes." A comprehensive ROS cannot raise the level, and a brief note cannot lower it. The 2023 revision also removed the old requirement for an <em>interval history</em>.Same. The pre-2023 rule requiring a detailed interval history and exam, scored two-of-three key components, no longer exists — guidance still citing it is out of date.
Typical clinical pictureResponding inadequately to treatment, or a minor complication that needs a management change; a chronic illness with exacerbation being actively managed.Clinical deterioration; a new significant problem or major complication; a decision to escalate the level of hospital care, such as transfer to ICU.
The risk example that fits the settingPrescription drug management; a decision on minor surgery with identified risk factors.CPT explicitly adapts the hospitalization example to this setting: for an admitted patient the equivalent high-risk decision is <strong>escalation of hospital level of care</strong> (eg, transfer to ICU). Also: drug therapy requiring intensive monitoring for toxicity, parenteral controlled substances, decision not to resuscitate or to de-escalate care.
Prolonged servicesNot available.CPT <strong>99418</strong> from <strong>65 minutes</strong> (the 50-minute base exceeded by 15). Medicare did not adopt 99418 and uses <strong>G0316</strong>, billable at <strong>80 minutes</strong>. CMS's MLN table prints 65 as a "threshold" but its own text adds a further 15 — 80 is the billable figure. Both require levelling on <strong>time alone</strong>; G0316 is not payable with discharge codes 99238/99239.
One service per dayReported per day. Where two clinicians of the exact same specialty and subspecialty in the same group both see the patient, CPT treats them as one clinician for this purpose.Same. On a split or shared visit, only distinct time counts — where two people jointly meet with or discuss the patient, only one person's time is counted.
Why it gets downcodedA progress note carried forward with no evidence of what was evaluated today.Severity of the admission substituted for severity today; a stable ICU patient billed at 99233 by location rather than by problem status; time claimed without a documented total.
Measured audit exposure (CERT)Improper payment rate <strong>4.1%</strong> (95% CI 1.9-6.3%), $84m projected; 49.3% incorrect coding.Improper payment rate <strong>22.7%</strong> (95% CI 18.7-26.7%), $502m projected — <strong>the highest rate and the largest dollar figure of any E/M code CMS reports separately</strong>, and more than five times the 99232 rate. 57.7% of it is incorrect coding. Roughly one dollar in five paid on 99233 is projected improper.
Category-level pictureSubsequent hospital visits as a category: $703m improper, <strong>13.8%</strong> rate (95% CI 11.2-16.5%) — well above the 5.3% for established office visits.Within that, upcoding accounts for 6.4% against incorrect coding of 7.1% overall. This is the highest-exposure corner of the E/M section, and 99233 is why. Across all E/M codes CMS projects $3.27bn in improper payments at a <strong>10.1%</strong> improper payment rate — 11% of all Medicare fee-for-service improper payments. <strong>Incorrect coding is the single largest cause at 50.0%</strong>, ahead of insufficient documentation at 31.1%.

Common questions

Common questions about 99232 vs 99233

Is 99232 "35 to 49 minutes"?

+

No, and this is the single most widely repeated error about these codes. The 2023 CPT descriptor states that "when using total time on the date of the encounter for code selection, 35 minutes must be met or exceeded" — a floor, with no upper bound written into the code. The reason a range gets reported is that 50 minutes is where 99233 begins, so people infer a 35-49 band. The practical effect is usually the same, but the language matters when you are defending a note: the code says met or exceeded.

My patient is in the ICU. Does that make it a 99233?

+

No. Location does not set the level. CPT is unusually direct here: for hospital inpatient and observation care, the problem addressed is the problem status on the date of the encounter, which may be significantly different from admission, and may not be the cause of admission or continued stay. A patient stabilised in the ICU whose management today is routine does not meet the high descriptors, and a ward patient who deteriorates today can. Score today's problem, not the bed.

Do I still need an interval history for 99232 or 99233?

+

No. The 2023 revision rewrote 99231-99233 and their guidelines; the interval-history requirement and the old two-of-three key-components method went with it. The codes now require "a medically appropriate history and/or examination" and are levelled by MDM or by total time. A great deal of guidance still circulating online — including forum answers that rank highly in search — describes the pre-2023 rules with detailed histories and exams. Check the date on anything that mentions key components.

What replaced the observation codes?

+

Effective 1 January 2023, CPT deleted hospital observation services codes 99217-99220 and the subsequent observation care codes 99224-99226, and merged observation into the hospital inpatient family. Initial care is now reported with 99221-99223 and subsequent care with 99231-99233 regardless of whether the patient is in inpatient or observation status. CPT also provides that a stay including a transition from observation to inpatient is a single stay, so the transition itself does not restart the initial-service clock.

What separates moderate from high MDM on a stable-but-complex patient?

+

Two of three elements, as everywhere else. On problems, high needs a severe exacerbation, progression or side effect of a chronic illness, or a threat to life or bodily function — a complex but stable patient usually does not clear that. On data, high needs two of the three categories where moderate needs one, and in hospital work the second category is frequently available: an independent interpretation of imaging read by radiology, or a documented discussion of management with a consultant outside your group. On risk, the setting-specific high example is a decision to escalate hospital level of care. Complexity of the patient is not the test; complexity of today's decision making is.

When does 99418 apply, and what does Medicare use instead?

+

Under CPT, prolonged code 99418 becomes reportable for subsequent care at 65 minutes — the 50-minute base for 99233 exceeded by a full 15 — in complete 15-minute units only. Medicare declined to adopt 99418, on the stated ground that its billing instructions would create administrative complexity and potentially duplicative payments, and created HCPCS G0316 instead. G0316 is billable with 99233 at 80 minutes. Beware a trap in CMS's own current Evaluation and Management MLN booklet: its prolonged-services table lists 65 minutes for 99233 under a column headed "time threshold to report prolonged," but the surrounding text requires at least 15 minutes beyond that figure. The billable number is 80, not 65, and a page that copies the table without the text is wrong by a full unit. Both codes require the visit to have been levelled on time alone, and G0316 may not be billed with discharge codes 99238 or 99239.

How exposed is 99233 really?

+

More than any other E/M code CMS reports. In the current CERT data, 99233 carries a 22.7% improper payment rate (95% CI 18.7-26.7%) and $502m in projected improper payments — the highest on both measures, and more than five times 99232's 4.1%. Incorrect coding accounts for 57.7% of it, so these are largely notes that exist and are complete but do not support high MDM. Subsequent hospital visits as a category run at 13.8% against 5.3% for established office visits. The historical direction of travel is the same: OIG found in 2012 that physicians increased their billing of higher-level E/M codes across all service types between 2001 and 2010, and on CMS utilisation data 99233's share of subsequent visits rose from 32.3% in 2019 to about 37% from 2021 onward while 99231 fell from 8.9% to 6.6%. None of that makes a well-documented 99233 wrong — but it does mean the code is reviewed against a sceptical prior, and that the note has to show today's severity rather than the admission's.

Two hospitalists in my group both saw the patient today. How do we bill?

+

As one service. CPT treats a physician or QHP of the exact same specialty and subspecialty in the same group practice as the same clinician for these codes, and subsequent care is reported per day. If you are levelling on time, only distinct time may be summed — where two or more individuals jointly meet with or discuss the patient, only one individual's time is counted. Advanced practice nurses and physician assistants working with physicians are treated as the same specialty and subspecialty as the physician.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →

Regulatory Radar

Stop finding out after the fact

$29/month, cancel anytime. Daily digest updates from our analysis, a dashboard holding the same items, and a cited assistant for everything they raise.

  • Federal Register, Federal Register+, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov, NSF News, UKRI, plus CASRAI’s own published content.
  • 72,264 indexed passages, and every answer cites the ones it drew on.