Skip to main content
v2026.11,772 entries · CC-BY 4.0

NST Fellowship 2026–27 (Bangladesh): Deadline, Eligibility and How to Apply

The NST Fellowship 2026-27 application window closed 27 August 2026, extended once from 13 August. A full eligibility checklist (GPA, CGPA, age limits), what happens next for selection and results, how the 2027-28 cycle works, and why NST is not the same scheme as STFT.

Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board

Last updated

The NST Fellowship — National Science and Technology Fellowship — is Bangladesh’s government fellowship for students enrolled in MS/MSc, MPhil and PhD courses in science subjects at public universities and approved postgraduate institutions. It is administered directly by the Ministry of Science and Technology’s Science-7 Branch, which issues its own circular and sets its own deadline each fiscal year.

It is not the same scheme as the Science and Technology Fellowship Trust (STFT) fellowship, although the two are frequently confused because both are advertised on the same government grant portal. If you are looking for the Trust’s scheme — the one that funds study abroad and requires IELTS — see the STFT Fellowship guide.

2026–27 application window is closed, as at 31 August 2026: the (extended) deadline of 27 August 2026, 4:00 pm has passed.

The original closing date of 13 August 2026 was extended once, to 27 August 2026, by ministry order (memo 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26.90, dated 10 August 2026) — no further extension has been confirmed. Already applied? See Selection, viva and results for what happens next. Missed this cycle? The ministry issues a new circular every fiscal year — see the next cycle below. Always confirm current status at most.gov.bd before relying on any date on this page.

On this page

The 2026–27 deadline

The Ministry of Science and Technology published the NST Fellowship circular for the 2026–2027 fiscal year on 12 July 2026, setting an original closing time of 13 August 2026 at 4:00 pm.

On 10 August 2026 the ministry issued a separate order extending that deadline. The order — memo 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26.90, signed by a Senior Assistant Secretary and circulated to the registrars of all universities — extended online submission to 27 August 2026, 4:00 pm. As of this page’s most recent check, 31 August 2026, that closing time has passed and no further extension has been published.

Stage Date (2026–27 cycle)
Circular published 12 July 2026
Original closing date 13 August 2026, 4:00 pm
Extension order issued 10 August 2026
Final closing date 27 August 2026, 4:00 pm
Status at 31 August 2026 Closed

The circular reserves the ministry’s right to change the timeline and conditions, and the 2026–27 cycle was already extended once before it closed. Treat any date on this page as needing confirmation against the ministry’s live notice, and do not rely on dates republished by scholarship-aggregator sites, which routinely carry a prior year’s figures.

The 2026–27 circular: what it is and where to get it

The circular (বিজ্ঞুপ্তি) is the single authoritative document for a cycle. The 2026–27 one carries memo number 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26-75 and is dated 12 July 2026 (28 Ashar 1433). It is issued by the Science-7 Branch of the Ministry of Science and Technology at the Bangladesh Secretariat, Dhaka, and published on most.gov.bd.

It calls for applications from students studying or researching at MS/MSc, MPhil and PhD level at public universities and approved postgraduate teaching institutions and institutes, in subjects falling under three groups:

  • Physical Science, Environmental Science and Engineering
  • Biological Science and Medical Science
  • Food and Agricultural Science

A separate document, the NST fellowship policy (নীতিমালা), also published on most.gov.bd, governs anything the circular does not spell out. Where the two differ, the policy applies.

Eligibility: GPA, CGPA and age limits

The 2026–27 circular sets academic thresholds that are unusually specific, and they are hard cut-offs rather than guidance.

MS / MSc MPhil PhD
SSC and HSC GPA at least 4.5 (scale 5), or First Division, in both exams
Bachelor’s CGPA at least 3.4 (scale 4) / 4.25 (scale 5) / First Class CGPA at least 3.2 (scale 4) / 4.0 (scale 5) / First Class at bachelor’s and master’s
Maximum age at closing date 30 35 45

Further conditions from the circular:

  • Science group at school is mandatory. The applicant must have been a Science group student at both SSC and HSC. Applicants from any other group are not considered eligible.
  • Full-time studentship is mandatory at every level. Part-time and evening programmes are not acceptable.
  • No second bite at master’s level. If you applied at MS/MSc level in a previous fiscal year, or received an award at that level, you cannot apply at MS/MSc level again. There is no renewal at MS/MSc level, and applications for a second master’s are not accepted.
  • Employed applicants may apply only at MPhil and PhD level, and must submit proof of leave. Anyone who enrolled without official permission from their employer is not eligible.
  • One application only, in one group.
  • CGPA to two decimal places. If your certificate shows three, submit two. Medical, veterinary, English-medium and other results issued as “Passed/Awarded” must be converted to GPA/CGPA by the awarding authority and the converted result submitted.

Eligibility checklist

All of the following must be true for the 2026–27 cycle — every item is drawn directly from the 12 July 2026 circular above:

  • SSC and HSC: GPA 4.5+ (scale 5) or First Division, as a Science group student, at both exams.
  • Bachelor’s CGPA at least 3.4 (scale 4) / 4.25 (scale 5) / First Class — MS/MSc applicants.
  • CGPA at least 3.2 (scale 4) / 4.0 (scale 5) / First Class at both bachelor’s and master’s — MPhil/PhD applicants.
  • Age at the closing date: 30 or under (MS/MSc), 35 or under (MPhil), 45 or under (PhD).
  • Enrolled full-time (not part-time or evening) at a public university or an approved postgraduate teaching institution/institute.
  • Studying or researching in one of the three eligible subject groups: Physical Science/Environmental Science/Engineering; Biological Science/Medical Science; or Food and Agricultural Science.
  • Not previously awarded — or previously applied for — an NST Fellowship at MS/MSc level.
  • If employed: applying only at MPhil or PhD level, with documented leave from your employer.
  • Registered on the ministry’s IDSDP platform using your National ID (NID) and the mobile number registered against that NID.
  • Submitting exactly one application, in one subject group.

If any item does not hold, the circular treats the application as ineligible — there is no partial-credit or waiver route described in either the circular or the policy.

How to apply, and the IDSDP registration step

There is no downloadable paper application form for the online stage — the whole submission runs through the ministry’s portal, and there is a registration step before it that catches people out.

  1. Register on IDSDP first. Before you can apply, you must register on the Ministry of Science and Technology’s Integrated Digital Service Delivery Platform (IDSDP) from the application web page. Registration requires your National ID (NID) and the mobile number registered against that NID. A birth certificate or any other identity document will not be accepted in place of the NID, and a mobile number not registered to your NID will not work.
  2. Apply at grant.most.gov.bd/en/services/most/nst-fellowship. Note the /most/nst-fellowship path — the /stft/ path on the same portal is the different Trust scheme.
  3. Upload the required documents (see below) as part of the form.
  4. Submit before the closing time. The submission link is active until the closing date and time and then stops accepting applications.

Documents you must upload and bring

Uploaded with the online application:

  • A recent photograph.
  • All educational certificates.
  • A scanned copy of your NID or Smart Card.
  • A scanned undertaking (অঙ্গীকারনামা) on a BDT 300 non-judicial stamp, in the prescribed format, declaring that you do not receive any fellowship or grant for study or research from any other government, autonomous or private institution. A specimen is published on most.gov.bd.
  • A completed declaration form in the prescribed format, signed and sealed by the relevant authority.

To show at the interview board (originals): SSC, HSC and bachelor’s certificates for MS/MSc applicants; SSC, HSC, bachelor’s and master’s certificates for MPhil and PhD applicants.

To submit at the interview board (one set):

  • A printed copy of the online application.
  • The original BDT 300 non-judicial stamp undertaking.
  • New applicants: a three-page research synopsis, in five copies. Renewal applicants: a progress report of no more than five pages, in five copies.
  • MPhil and PhD applicants: the admission confirmation letter, one set of copies of all educational certificates, and — if employed — proof of leave.

If information or evidence submitted at any stage is found to be false, the application is cancelled and the ministry may take legal or administrative action.

The award amount

CASRAI could not verify a 2026–27 NST Fellowship stipend figure from a Bangladesh government source, so this page does not state one. The 12 July 2026 circular sets out eligibility, documents and deadlines but does not publish a monthly stipend or total award value.

Where the figure actually lives, and how to find the current one:

  • The NST fellowship policy (নীতিমালা) published on most.gov.bd is the governing document for award terms.
  • The government order (জিও, “GO”) issued after each selection round names the successful fellows and the amounts sanctioned. The ministry publishes these on its website each fiscal year, so a recent GO is the most reliable public indication of what is actually being paid.

Amounts circulating on scholarship-aggregator sites are frequently a prior year’s figure, or a figure from the separate STFT scheme, republished without a date. Do not budget against one. If you need the current number, read it from the policy or the most recent GO on the ministry’s own site.

Selection, viva and results

After the closing date, applications are screened and a preliminary list is published on the Ministry of Science and Technology’s website. Shortlisted applicants are then called to an oral examination (মৌখিক পরীক্ষা), with the time, date and venue announced through the same website.

There is no individual notification by post, and the circular explicitly instructs applicants to visit the ministry’s website regularly for these announcements. If you applied and have heard nothing, checking most.gov.bd is the intended route — not waiting for a letter or an email.

In past cycles the ministry has published its final selections as a merit list document on most.gov.bd — a 2024–25 NST Fellowship merit list, for example, is publicly documented online, naming successful applicants by university. Expect the 2026–27 cycle to follow the same pattern (preliminary list, then interview, then merit list), though CASRAI could not verify an exact results date for this cycle from a government source; the ministry’s own site is the only reliable place to check.

Next cycle: NST Fellowship 2027–28

The Ministry of Science and Technology issues a new NST Fellowship circular every fiscal year — the 2026–27 circular was published 12 July 2026. CASRAI could not verify a publication date for the 2027–28 circular from a government source, and the ministry does not pre-announce one; treat any date not published directly by most.gov.bd as unconfirmed.

Based on the pattern in the 2026–27 circular, the parts least likely to change cycle to cycle are structural: the three eligible subject groups, the requirement to register on IDSDP with a National ID before applying, and the requirement for a Science-group background at SSC and HSC. The parts that do change every cycle — and that this page will only get right for 2026–27 once a new circular replaces it — are the exact CGPA/age thresholds, the closing date, and whether that date gets extended. Check most.gov.bd directly for the current circular once one is published.

NST Fellowship vs STFT Fellowship

These are two separate government fellowships. They are confused constantly, partly because both are advertised on the same grant portal, and partly because the Science and Technology Fellowship Trust’s office is located inside the National Science and Technology Complex — whose initials are also “NST”.

NST Fellowship STFT Fellowship
Run by Ministry of Science and Technology, Science-7 Branch Science and Technology Fellowship Trust
2026–27 circular 12 July 2026 7 July 2026
2026–27 closing date 27 August 2026 (extended) 15 September 2026
Portal path /services/most/nst-fellowship /services/stft/stft-fellowship
Levels MS/MSc, MPhil, PhD MS, MPhil, PhD
Study abroad In-country study Yes — THE top-400 universities
Application fee No fee stated in the circular BDT 2,000 / BDT 5,000
Age limit 30 (MS/MSc), 35 (MPhil), 45 (PhD) 35 (MS/MPhil), 42 (PhD)
English test Not required IELTS / TOEFL / PTE required
Hard copy posted in advance Brought to the viva Yes, by 24 September 2026

Both require a sworn undertaking that you hold no other fellowship or grant, so you cannot draw both at once. Full detail on the Trust’s scheme is in the STFT Fellowship guide.

Official contacts

Frequently asked questions

Is the NST Fellowship 2026–27 application still open?

No. The (extended) closing date of 27 August 2026, 4:00 pm has passed as of this page’s most recent check on 31 August 2026, and no further extension has been published. If you already submitted, see Selection, viva and results for what happens next. If you missed this cycle, see next cycle below — the ministry has not yet announced a 2027–28 circular.

When will the NST Fellowship 2027–28 circular be published?

Not yet announced. The 2026–27 circular was published 12 July 2026; CASRAI could not verify an exact publication date for 2027–28 from a government source, and the ministry does not pre-announce one. Check most.gov.bd directly, or return to this page — it will be updated once a new circular is confirmed.

What was the NST Fellowship deadline for 2026–27?

27 August 2026, 4:00 pm (extended). The circular of 12 July 2026 originally set 13 August 2026, and a ministry order dated 10 August 2026 extended it to 27 August. As of 31 August 2026, this window has closed and no further extension has been confirmed.

Where is the NST Fellowship circular for 2026–27?

It is published on most.gov.bd, dated 12 July 2026, memo number 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26-75. The ministry publishes each fiscal year’s circular there along with the governing policy and the undertaking specimen. A circular from an earlier year is not a guide to the current cycle.

How much is the NST Fellowship award?

The 2026–27 circular does not state a stipend figure, and CASRAI could not verify a current amount from a Bangladesh government source, so this page does not quote one. The amount is set in the NST fellowship policy on most.gov.bd, and the government order issued after each selection round shows what was actually sanctioned. Figures on scholarship-listing sites are frequently out of date or taken from the separate STFT scheme.

What CGPA do I need for the NST Fellowship?

For MS/MSc: GPA of at least 4.5 (scale 5) or First Division in both SSC and HSC, and a bachelor’s CGPA of at least 3.4 (scale 4), 4.25 (scale 5) or First Class. For MPhil and PhD: the same SSC and HSC requirement, and CGPA of at least 3.2 (scale 4), 4.0 (scale 5) or First Class at both bachelor’s and master’s level. See the full eligibility checklist above.

What is the age limit?

Measured at the application closing date: 30 years for MS/MSc, 35 for MPhil and 45 for PhD.

Is there an NST Fellowship application form to download?

No. The application is made online through the ministry’s grant portal after registering on the IDSDP platform with your NID and the mobile number registered against it. What you print is the completed online application, which you bring to the interview board along with the BDT 300 stamp undertaking and your research synopsis.

Can I apply if I studied Commerce or Arts at HSC?

No. The circular requires the applicant to have been a Science group student at both SSC and HSC, and states that applicants from other groups are not considered eligible.

Can I apply for the NST Fellowship twice at master’s level?

No. If you applied at MS/MSc level in a previous fiscal year or received an award at that level, a further MS/MSc application is not accepted. There is no renewal at MS/MSc level and second-master’s applications are not accepted. MPhil and PhD applications are separate.

How will I know if I have been shortlisted, and when are results published?

The preliminary list is published on most.gov.bd, and the oral examination time, date and venue are announced on the same site. Final results are published as a merit list, following the same pattern as prior cycles. The circular instructs applicants to check the website regularly; there is no individual letter or email, and CASRAI could not verify an exact results date for the 2026–27 cycle.

Is the NST Fellowship the same as the STFT Fellowship?

No — they are separate schemes with separate circulars, deadlines, age limits, fees and portal paths. NST is run by the ministry’s Science-7 Branch; STFT is run by the Science and Technology Fellowship Trust and funds study abroad. See the STFT Fellowship guide.

Sources

Figures on this page are taken from two Bangladesh government documents published on most.gov.bd: the NST Fellowship circular for FY 2026–2027 (memo 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26-75, dated 12 July 2026, Science-7 Branch, Ministry of Science and Technology), and the order extending the application deadline (memo 39.00.0000.000.207.02.0002.26.90, dated 10 August 2026). Checked 22 August 2026; deadline status re-verified 31 August 2026. Deadlines, thresholds and award terms are reissued every fiscal year and this cycle’s deadline was already extended once before it closed — read the current circular before advising an applicant.

Related CASRAI resources

Follow CASRAI

Research-administration guidance, standards updates and independent tool reviews.

Ask CASRAI · included with Regulatory Radar

Ask about NST Fellowship 2026–27 (Bangladesh): Deadline, Eligibility and How to Apply

Ask CASRAI answers research-administration questions and cites the passages behind every claim — and says so when the corpus does not cover something, instead of guessing. It comes with a Regulatory Radar subscription at $29 a month, alongside the daily digest of regulatory changes and the dashboard of what changed.

150 questions a day, on this site, over the API, or inside your own tools through the CASRAI MCP server.

Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →

Regulatory Radar

Stop finding out after the fact

$29/month, cancel anytime. Daily digest updates from our analysis, a dashboard holding the same items, and a cited assistant for everything they raise.

  • Federal Register, Federal Register+, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov, NSF News, UKRI, plus CASRAI’s own published content.
  • 72,264 indexed passages, and every answer cites the ones it drew on.